Happy Mother’s Day

My family is all about presents… so every Christmas, Birthday, etc. my sister and I ask if there is anything that my mum wants and instead of making a suggestion she sends us an ever more cryptic challenge either by post or by email.

Friday morning my sister rings me stating the gauntlet has been thrown regarding Mother’s Day:

She says “Mum has requested the “Courtesan au Chocolat” from The Grand Budapest Hotel film by Wes Anderson.

Image

… complete with correct branding and a box that falls apart just like in the film. ”

 

So yesterday my sister and I spent 1 hour working out the mechanism of the box and branding, 3 hours making the box and then a further 5 hours making the cakes themselves. They are small towers of 3 sizes of choux bun, piped full of dark chocolate creme patissiere, covered in 3 pastel coloured glazes, stuck together with blue butter cream, piped with white chocolate and finished off with a raspberry (although I think it’s a coffee bean in the original)

I think our version is pretty analogous and she was very happy, although she  had to step in at one point to resurrect my creme patisserie.It was a bit

floppy (whoops!)

floppImageImageImageImage

 

 

 

 

 

About popty

London based sticker and gluer.

One response to “Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Impressive! I love the box.

Leave a Reply

