Tea with Mussolini…English people in Italy.

Once in a while I like to pretend that I embrace an Italian style of living, Fellini style.Image

ImageIt’s a bit embarassing in an “Eat, Pray, Love” kind of way because I’m not like that at all and I look so far from being a native with my sunburn and vaguely lilac hair. 

Anyway, I was feeling a bit out of place until I saw three things which made me feel at home…

.Tutti 99c – Which is just like 99p store but with more espresso cups.

.A vintage bric a brac shop run by a hipster in dungarees with a moustache. 

.Girls struggling in their heels over the cobbles on the Ponte Vecchio- a little tableau that could have been lifted from the Covent Garden Piazza.

I sound cynical- this is not the case. I love Italy greatly, I just find it funny that I spend my whole time looking for things that remind me of home. Image

UB vintage shop was lovely- it was quite expensive but that was partly the exchange rate.  I got so excited in there that I had to buy something and settled on vintage, Italian airmail envelopes. They had a crazy array of stuff like hair driers and old washing powder.

Nia fell in love with this 1920s factory worker’s dress but I was just in love with the shop:

Image

 

About popty

London based sticker and gluer.

Leave a Reply

