Screen Sirens

I promise I will leave the subject matter of mermaids soon but for now I’ve got a bit of a crush on them: I was researching and I went through the archive of best loved mermaid films. “20 000 leagues under the sea” by George Méliès is awesome, it’s just like “Trip to the moon” but under water and is beautiful. (“Trip to the moon” is George Méliès’ most famous film- incase you don’t know your early filmakers, he’s the man who that “Hugo” film was based on, he lived at the turn of the 20th Century and much of his footage has been lost.) This silly little video is a kind of precursor to “20 000 Leagues…” – “La Sirene”. it’s only 4 minutes and the mermaid doesn’t feature until late but she is a charmer. It’s silent- so I suggest filling in your own soundtrack. Mine was “let me entertain you” from “Gypsy” but I’m not entirely sure that’s relevant, it worked for me but I was in a show-song kind of mood.

About popty

London based sticker and gluer.

Leave a Reply

