The Barbican Conservatory

 I was unaware that amidst the post-apocalyptic landscape of the Barbican Centre there was a little hot house. It looked much like “day of the triffids” or indeed any other Sci-Fi film of the era. Barbican’s aesthetically speaking its not my cup of tea, although I really think that the centre is responsible for putting on most of the good exhibitions and performance art going on in London, miles ahead of the R.A. or the Tate in terms of being up to date. I was quietly amused by the green house, it was serene, but my boyfriend loved it, loves the whole feel of Barbican with its crazy elevated streets and eerie emptiness etc. It is impressive I grant you, but at the end of the day it makes me a bit uncomfortable. Each to their own!

Image

It was complete with its own aviary, which made it sound like a jungle and I was glad to see it housed some of the birdies from the Céleste Boursier-Mougenot’s aviary exhibited there in the curve gallery in 2010.

About popty

London based sticker and gluer.

Leave a Reply

